Home > Kelruk > Walking the Path, part 1

Walking the Path, part 1

((Kel and Ayida have gone to Zuldazar for Kel to speak with Anansi and resolve the purpose of his service to the loa. I could add more explanation but it is late and I am very sleepy. More to come as it is written.))

Kelruk and Ayida walked into the small stone room, cool despite the heat outside, and dark save the glow from a single smoky brazier. Kelruk crouched, pulling a few sticks of incense from his bags and placing them upon the brazier, followed by a pouch of Kezan tobacco. He removed a flagon of frog venom brew and poured out the first swallow upon the ground before placing it beside the brazier and the offerings. He knelt upon the cool stone floor, bowing his head before the small altar in front of him. “Compe Anansi, I bring the offering. Is it good?”

 
In the darkness behind the altar something stirred, and the form of a withered old troll limped into the growing light cast by the brazier. He looked as if he had just awakened, his jaunty feather hat perched at an angle upon his head. His old patchwork cloak concealed much of his clothing, but what did show contrasted painfully with the garish green and yellow hat. The old troll stopped beside Kelruk, laying a bony hand on his shoulder. “It is good, son of Kel’zhan. You wish to speak, no? What is it you desire?”

 
Ayida stood silently, her head bowed in reverence, her bat familiar fluttering over to the avatar of Anansi, coming to perch on his shoulder. The old troll nods gravely to the bat and produces a large cigar, lighting it as he regarded Kelruk’s prostrate form and awaited his reply. “I wish to understand my path, and why it is I must travel it.” The avatar exhaled, tapping off a bit of ash. “That’s a lot to ask, now.” He leaned back and swung a leg over the altar, straddling it quite irreverently. “And what would you give in return, hm? You wish to know this thing you have not discovered yourself. You wish a loa to make clear his plans an deign to speak to you of them? The loa keep their own counsel. What would you offer for this?”

 
After a moment of thought, Kelruk responded. “I would offer myself, and my renewed service. To maintain the rituals and the knowledge of the old paths. I have nothing else I can give.” The old troll rolled his eyes at this and sighed. “Come on now, you can’t even embellish a little? Tell me you’ll build me a damn bridge to Silvermoon, something.” Ayida stepped forward at this, raising her head. “I offer myself on behalf of Kelruk Kel’zhan. A Priestess of Hir’eek to carry your stories as long as I draw breath. I give you my faith and my body and the promise that every child I bear will know of you and revere you. I give you a heart that will love your servant, Kelruk, without question. And has.” She stepped back once more and pushed her glasses up along the bridge of her nose.

 
The avatar’s eyes widened and he cackled, breaking the stillness of the room and dipping his head delightedly. “That’s a good one there, boy. You make sure you take care of her.” He turned his gaze back to Kelruk and addressed him. “It is good. We will speak, and once only. The duty is your to heed my words and remember.” He crouched down to face Kelruk, the two barely inches apart. “Come, boy. Keep your wits about you.” Both trolls closed their eyes and for a moment the fire blazed, casting the shadow of the avatar upon the walls, but not that of a troll. Silence descended as the two began to commune without words, leaving Ayida to watch and wait patiently.

Categories: Kelruk
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment